President, First Family To Light National Christmas Tree On Thursday

President Barack Obama, First Lady Michelle Obama, and their family will officially light the National Christmas Tree on Thursday at the 90th annual holiday tree lighting ceremony on the Ellipse in President’s Park.

The ceremony will be streamed live (4:30 p.m. EDT, 2:30 p.m. MDT, 1:30 p.m. PDT) online, beginning with the exclusive National Christmas Tree Lighting pre-show.

Hosted by acclaimed actor Neil Patrick Harris, this year’s National Christmas Tree Lighting ceremony features a talented lineup of performers including: double-platinum band The Fray, multiple Grammy® winning singer/songwriter Jason Mraz, and Grammy®-nominated singer/songwriter/producer Ledisi will join singer James Taylor, 10-time Grammy winner singer/songwriter/producer Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds, two-time Grammy® winner Colbie Caillat and American Idol Season 11 winner Phillip Phillips, along with a special guest appearance by Modern Family actor Rico Rodriguez.

Throughout the month of December, the event will be rebroadcast on public television. Broadcast times can be found by checking local listings or visiting this website.

This year’s ceremony marks the 90th National Christmas Tree Lighting, an American holiday tradition started by President Calvin Coolidge in 1923.