Volunteer To Help Sea Turtles At Biscayne National Park

Stuck in the snow and freezing temps? Head to southern Florida where you can warm up and come to the aid of sea turtles at Biscayne National Park.

Beginning late this month and continuing through March the park staff will be looking for volunteers to help restore threatened sea turtle nesting habitats along the islands of Biscayne National Park. Invite your family, friends, classmates, group, or club to join park staff for a sunny boat ride out to the islands where beach cleanups will take place. Your efforts will result in clean beaches, which encourage successful sea turtle nesting.

Plan to bring a lunch, water bottle, closed-toed shoes, clothes you don’t mind getting wet and dirty, and a bathing suit. Park staff will provide all safety equipment including sunscreen, bugspray, and gloves. The trips will last anywhere from five to eight hours, beginning with a brief orientation at park headquarters at 8:30 a.m.

Dates for the cleanups are:

Tuesday, February 25; Wednesday, February 26; Thursday, February 27; Friday, February 28; Friday, March 7; Monday, March 10; Monday, March 17; Tuesday, March 18; Wednesday, March 19; Thursday, March 20; Friday, March 21; Monday, March 24; Tuesday, March 25; and Monday, March 31.

Call or email Nick Sanzone (305-230-1144 ext. 069 or ) for more information and to reserve spots for you or your group. Weekend trips may also be available upon request. There are 15 spots available for each date, however more may be available for a group request. Please note that we may need to reschedule your trip if we do not have enough participants or for poor weather.