The Innis House was built about 1861 on property
owned by Martha Stephens. In 1861 it was lived in by John Innis, one of
Martha's common law husbands.
The Innis House was lived in until the 1970s.
After the house was sold to the park, restoration work returned the
house to its 1862 appearance. Work crews removed modern layers of wood
and wall paper revealing hundreds of bullet holes.